The Perfect Birthday at The Firelight Inn!

Greetings! As many of you may know I just celebrated my 27th birthday and as usual I was dreading it. See the past two years have been less than ideal, but memorable they were. So this year’s resolution was NOT to celebrate my birthday. No I don’t mean to ignore it and act as if it never existed, but instead to treat it like any other day. Well on the 11th of this month my girlfriends Ashley, Jessica and Shelsie convinced me to celebrate with a friendly dinner with my girlfriends. The idea was that if I celebrated a week before nothing could go wrong. So we all got gussied up and headed to SeaChange located at The Guthrie Theater for a drinks and a nice meal.The dinner was turning out nice and we were all have such a great time, so once dinner was finished we decided to head to The W for after dinner drinks.

Jessica, Shelsie, Me and Ashley at SeaChange

Well weren’t we all colored red when I received a phone call saying that there was some water damage at my place and I had to head home ASAP!  “Oh lord, I knew something like this was going to happen!”, I exclaimed  to the ladies. They all looked at me sadden as they saw my disappointed look.

Needless to say there were issues, but they were able to be resolved. Thankfully, but with this event I was really concerned about my actual birthday. What if something even worse happened? As I awoke on the day of my birth (Dec. 18th) I was surprised by my WONDERFUL boyfriend Nick. He had went and ordered me my dream birthday cake from Wuollet’s Bakery on Hennepin in Minneapolis, MN and also picked me up a Venti light roast coffee from Starbucks. 🙂 I was so excited and happy my birthday was starting out right. Nick said he wanted everything to be just right because I deserved a great birthday, so with that he handed me my birthday card and present. The card was hilarious and I almost peed my pants reading and listening to it. Then I opened my present, an iPod Touch something that I wanted, but didn’t have to have! 🙂

This birthday was just getting better and on top of the present Nick sliced me off a HUGE piece of birthday cake for breakfast now I was living the life! My day just keept better; later that afternoon Nick and I loaded up the car and headed to Duluth, MN for a romantic night at The Firelight Inn a B&B with the best innkeepers and luxuries. We reserved the Barnum Suite a room with a nice huge comfy bed and a whirlpool jet tub!

The Barnum Suite Bed at The Firelight Inn

Oh how wonderful this was, we were staying in a historic mansion, there was endless sugar cookies, coffee and coco and the innkeepers were the nicest people. I was in heaven. Joy one of the innkeepers gave us a tour of the mansion and gave us the history. The original owner Mr. Barnum was one of the founders of General Mills and was a big philanthropist that was a giving man. As we finished our tour we settled into our suite and rested a bit. Once we were ready for dinner Joy helped us pick a great sea food restaurant, PickWicks a historic pub with friendly and speedy food and service. Dinner was scrumptious, with our stomach’s satisfied we headed back to the inn where we discovered three deer grazing on the side of the mansion. How special, it was a great way to end the night. Later in our room we watched a dvd, relaxed, had a piece of birthday cake and enjoyed some vino (thanks to Sonja and Robin of ScoopyPoo). The night was successful. In the morning we had a treat waiting at our door. A breakfast basket full of goodies.

Each morning Joy and Jim make from scratch breakfast for their guest and deliver it to their door so they don’t have to go to the dining room to eat. With the wonderful breakfast we had mimosa’s a nice way to start the day and end our stay at the inn.

Christmas at Firelight Inn
Nick and I in front of the Christmas Tree at Firelight Inn

As we made our way downstairs I had to do one more thing and get Nick and I’s picture in front of the big beautiful Christmas tree! A perfect way to remember the trip and the inn. For the first time in three years I finally had a perfect birthday and it was all thanks to Nick and the Firelight Inn (Joy and Jim).

Happy 27th Birthday to me!

Leave a comment